The Static Age

So, I definitely  didn’t steal the title of this post from a Green Day song. Don’t look it up. I SAID DON’T LOOK IT UP. Ahem. I digress. Mild plagiarism aside, This post is on TV. Most specifically, the future of the medium in respect to any one of the theories we’ve covered in class.

I like to have alot of fun with this blog. Crack jokes, insert funny pictures, but you know hat else I am other than a joker? LAZY. Very much so. I spend my time absorbing funny media and playing games, quite a bit too much of it, arguably. (Pay no attention to me typing this post literally 6 hours before it is due) HOWEVER, my procrastination induced insomnia aside, you know what I’m NOT doing? Watching TV. I haven’t sincerely sat down and watched a show on any sort of television (Other than maybe the Super Bowl: Go Pats!) in years, and I likely wont have cable/sattalite/fiber/broadcast when I’m a well settled adult, either. It’s a waste of money when you consider that with internet connection, I can watch anything any time, and in some cases anywhere.

There be the reason for why I choose displacement theory. I could also argue that this relates also to the principle of relative consistency, as the money I’ll spend on my Netflix/RoosterTeeth/YouTube Red/CrunchyRoll subscriptions very well may come out to be about the same as if I went with the cable, but I believe displacement theory more explains the phenomenon.

The numbers speak for themselves. TV is becoming more expensive to keep running, with ad spending rising each year. We see this as a good thing, as that indicates an advertiser’s confidence in the medium, but I think it will one day hit a critical mass, especially with services like Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, and even RoosterTeeth producing their own exclusive and well made content that can both compete with TV’s shows, and be on-demand at all times. Eventually as more people cut cords, advertisers will have to gravitate away from TV. In short, I personally don’t think TV will last. That said, I don’t think it will die in my lifetime. Not completely. No, it’ll be a slow thing.

In comes the assignment for the day. This has everything to do with displacement theory. Arguably the whole class of CommTech is one big lesson in this idea. Displacement Theory is, succinctly speaking: out with the old and in with the new. We only have so much time and money. When we spend time or money on one thing, it’s not going toward another. And this is how TV dies, eventually. We spend more and more time on internet based media, possibly even money on it, and eventually the TV must be dropped, as the on-demand nature and increasingly superior shows of our Netflix and the like make TV a waste of that limited time and not worth our limited money.

OooOOooOOo, WordPress pre-mosaics your images. Well done, WordPress. Well done.

On a closing note, and then I’ll be off to bed. I’ll give my opinion of TV. I don’t think it will last, but only because it can’t. The above logos are just 5 of the dozens out there available for online streaming, many being free with just an internet connection. By comparison, TV, even with a DVR, is a bulky, expensive, and limited piece of tech that has nowhere to really go but down.

Leave a Reply

