AntiSocial Networking

Here we go on another caffeine induced rant on whatever the professor wants me to write about. Today’s subject- social networking. My definition of Social Networking is a bit larger than Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, and the like. To me, a game could be a social network. I play League of Legends. Quite a bit, actually. In my time on that game, I’ve been more social than I’ve ever been on Facebook.

LoL

This game. Cool graphic in my opinion.

So I guess if the definition of Social network can be expanded to mine, sure, it’s been rather influential in my life. However, I haven’t signed onto my Facebook for any considerable time in the past… I want to say 8 years, and I’ve never had a Twitter or anything like that. To me, sharing what I’m doing and where I am with everyone is a bit stupid. If I want you to know, I’ll text you.

The thing is, with my personal ideologies on how the internet should be regulated, there is no clear cut way to make it where Social networks are 100% good all the time. Hell, even on that old kid’s game “Club Penguin,” which has the strictest chat filter ever, people still found ways to bully and spread hate on the site. I think the internet is a lure for people to be assholes, and that’s fine to me. The fact that some people are hurt by it is a negative side effect.

Leave a Reply

